Welcome to the Western District Cricket Union website.  The Union organises and promotes cricket to half the population of Scotland, from Dumfries & Galloway in the south-west, up the west coast, and across the central belt to the Forth Valley.  We co-ordinate with the West District Junior Cricket Union, local authorities and Cricket Scotland to encourage youth development and provide a structured developmental pathway with the aim of allowing the game to flourish and grow at all levels.  From the Premier Division to the Greenwood Trophy, the Union provides competitions for all its member clubs, from 50-over Saturday cricket to competitive T20 competitions.

Latest news and notices

  • Ground parking restrictions (20th May 2018)

    n addition to the new parking restrictions previously advised at West of Scotland and Hillhead, please note the following:

    Hamilton Palace (Glasgow South ‘home’ ground) – We have been advised by Ammar Ashraf  that the stated new parking restrictions in the main car parks will not apply for cricket matches. There is also scope to park on the grass at the cricket pitch for a limited number of cars

    Kilmarnock – visiting teams should NOT park at the Ayrshire Athletic Arena car park. There is ample parking very close to the ground. Cars parked at the AAA may be locked in when the Arena closes. There have been a couple of cases of this recently, resulting in visiting players having to return the following day to get their vehicles.

  • Reminders (16th May 2018)

    The Cricket Management Committee wish  to remind all clubs of the following matters, which are not being adhered to on some occasions. Future failures to adhere to these may result in more specific action being taken.

    • Match fees are now the responsibility of BOTH clubs, home and away. Please ensure that these are paid on the day.
    • Umpires report submissions – many clubs are still not submitting reports, including 3 Premiership teams. WoSACO rely on feedback for training, assessment and grading purposes. Please complete these. Should an umpire name not appear on the drop down menu (some new umpires are not on this yet) , just write NONE and put the umpire’s name in the remarks box.
    • There are different regulations in different divisions. Captains are expected to be familiar with these. Please do not be critical of umpires without checking your facts.


  • “Last man stands” – umpires needed (8th May 2018)

    Paul Reddish writes, “I am looking for some help to make this year’s ‘Last man stands’ Glasgow league even bigger and bigger than last year.  I am looking for umpires to assist with the smooth running of matches – with matches due to start later this month.  Anyone interested in helping out should contact me directly. Please note that there is reimbursement (£20 per match) available.”

  • ECB video for new Laws of cricket (26th April 2018)

    Most people will have heard of changes to the Laws of cricket instigated by ICC that will take effect in WDCU matches this season. The ECB has kindly produced a couple of videos that help explain the differences. These should, of course, be viewed with WDCU Playing Conditions in mind. (Most of them will not apply when there are no WoSACO appointed umpires).

    Short five-minute summary video

    More detailed video (20 minutes)

  • Scotland versus Pakistan T20 Internationals, 12 and 13 June 2018 (25th April 2018)

    Tickets are still available for the above games.

    Pakistan will travel to Scotland to play a two match T20I series in the same week that Kyle Coetzer’s men take on England in a One Day International at the same venue in what promises to be a thrilling week of international cricket.

    It will be the first T20I clash between Scotland and Pakistan since the pair went head-to-head in the group stages of the 2007 ICC World T20 in Durban, South Africa. Despite a hard hitting 46 from 35 balls from Scotland opener Fraser Watts on the day, Pakistan recorded a victory that helped carry them towards the final of the first ever edition of ICC World T20 event. Pakistan’s last visit to Scotland was in 2013 when they defeated Scotland by 96 runs in an ODI as their captain Misbah ul-Haq scored a decisive 83* with Saeed Ajmal and Junaid Khan taking three wickets apiece.

    These matches are also set to be the first time Scotland have hosted a Full Member in a T20I on home soil and having used home advantage to good effect in jointly winning the 2015 ICC WT20 Qualifier hosted in Scotland & Ireland, this series will represent the opportunity for Scotland to record more memorable victories in front of our home crowd.

  • WDCU Administrator – vacancy (23rd April 2018)

    As a result of our current Administrator, Iain Murdoch’s move to take up a role with Cricket Scotland, the WDCU are seeking a replacement provider of administration services.
    A summary of the key requirements are outlined as attached, and a more detailed role specification can be obtained on request.  Please note that the deadline for submission of applications is Monday, 7 May 2018.

    WDCU Administrator job advert, April 2018

    WDCU Administrator role specification

  • Parking at Hillhead Cricket Club in season 2018 (16th April 2018)

    The Glasgow City Council regulated parking zones which affect visitors to Hamilton Crescent this summer have not yet been extended to the area around Hughenden where Hillhead Cricket Club (“HCC”) plays, but parking in the area is very problematic. The HCC committee would note there is no parking available in the grounds, and ask if cricketing guests can park in the areas highlighted in the following document: Parking at Hillhead Cricket Club

  • WDCU EGM (4th April 2018)


    Please find the EGM, 2018 Notice to the notice and agenda for the WDCU pre-season EGM, to be held on Thursday the 19th of April at Poloc CC, Shawholm, commencing at 7pm.  Ball orders will be distributed to clubs (subject to prior payment) AFTER the conclusion of the meeting.

    Kind regards

    Mark Colman
    WDCU Exec Secretary

  • Groundsman pre-season workshops (2nd April 2018)

    Cricket Scotland have been able to secure two Groundsman pre-season workshops in April that will be open to all clubs.  Details as follows:

    Sunday 15 April, Stirling County CC: 10am-3.30pm, tutor Albert Simpson
    Sunday 22 April, Aberdeenshire CC: 10am-3.30pm, tutor Ken McCurdie

    These workshops are free and will concentrate on the important practical elements of pitch/square/outfield preparation at this time of the year.  Both Ken and Albert are experienced international standard groundsmen so this is a great opportunity to learn from the best in Scotland. To register for either of these practical workshops please follow the link below:


  • Parking restrictions at Hamilton Crescent (22nd March 2018)

    West of Scotland CC is sorry to advise that Hamilton Crescent is now in the middle of a restricted parking zone from 8am to 6pm, Mondays to Saturdays.

    If you have players or supporters travelling to Hamilton Crescent by car for a Saturday match, please note that the club will have visitors permits available in the clubhouse. These will cost £2 each and will cover the period from 12 noon to 6pm.

    West of Scotland CC will continue to lobby against these restrictions as they seem unnecessary on a Saturday, but Glasgow City Council will not consider any amendments until 2019 at the earliest. West of Scotland CC apologises for the inconvenience and expense this will cause.