New practice facilities at Hillhead CC!

Training will never be the same again as Hillhead CC opened their brand new practice nets last night .  The net facility was opened by Tony Brian, Chair of Cricket Scotland, and welcomed by a group of playing members both old and young! Good luck to Hillhead with their new facility and here’s hoping it is extremely well used!

Finals week – ready to go!!

Following Tunnock’s Uddingston’s success over Ayr in last night’s McCulloch Cup semi-final all the finalists for next week’s games are identified!  The games are as noted below.  Good luck to all the finalists, play hard and fair, and may the best teams win on the night.  It’s free entry to all the games so here’s hoping for good crowds at each game.

Date Competition Team Team Venue – start 6pm
Tuesday, 30 July Western Cup Partick Titwood Titwood, Glasgow
Wednesday, 31 July McCulloch Cup Ferguslie Tunnocks Uddingston Glenpark, Greenock
Thursday, 1 August Greenwood Trophy Victoria Dean Park Albert Park, Glasgow
WoSACO – New Umpires Wanted

In 2019 a good number of new umpires started umpiring in the West of Scotland. There is always a need for more. If its the right time for you to take up umpiring then please contact Allan Jack and let him know. There is a full calendar of games at every level you could stand in and if you enrol  now you will be ready to go at the start of next season!! Please see the link below for details:

Put something back_Umpire4


Murgitroyd Rowan Cup winners 2019 – Clydesdale CC

Congratulations to Clydesdale CC who overcame a determined Poloc CC side in an enthralling final at Shawholm last night. Needing 20 from the last over Poloc nearly made it and came up an agonising 3 runs short. Thanks go to Murgitroyd for sponsoring the tournament, Poloc CC for hosting the final, Neil Cauldwell and Ronnie Gilliland for their splendid umpiring and all those who turned up to watch at sunny Shawholm last night.

Greenwood Trophy 2019 – semi-final draw

The semi-final draw for the Greenwood Trophy is as follows:

Dean Park v Albert Park
Partick v Victoria

Ties are to be played on Thursday 18th July.

Club Update – 9

Well done to Albert Park, Dean Park, Victoria and Partick for reaching the Greenwood Trophy semi-finals.

The draw will be posted early next week.  All clubs should remind their players about the requirement to play fairly and in the ‘spirit of the game.’  There has been an upsurge in disciplinary issues recently and its important that this trend is halted.

Could I once again remind all clubs to fully complete their short and long scorecards and Captain’s reports, including umpiring assessments for your opposition teams umpiring where there are no umpires. Please also remember to complete your fair play assessments too as your mark will influence the league tables. Competition at both ends of these tables is heating up.

On that note the CMC this week decided that all 5-point sanctions for incorrectly submitted Captain’s reports will be lifted. Sanctions will still apply where a scorecard has not been submitted on time or a Captain’s report not submitted at all. These were the regulations used in 2018.

Our first cup final will be held next week with the Murgitroyd Rowan Cup being contested between Clydesdale CC and Poloc CC at Shawholm on the 11th of July start time 6pm.  Please encourage your members to attend where possible.

Finally good luck to Ferguslie, Stirling County and McCrea FS West of Scotland in the quarter-finals of the Scottish Cup and to Helensburgh and LOC Hire Stenhousemuir in the quarter-finals of the Challenge Cup. All ties are this Sunday.

Iain Kennedy
WDCU Administrator

Greenwood Trophy – quarter-final draw, 2019

The quarter-final draw for the Greenwood Trophy is:

Kirkstyle v Dean Park
Albert Park v GHK
Partick v Whitehaugh
Ardencaple v Victoria

Ties to be played on 4th July with a reserve date being the 11th of July.