The MB Stanger Trophy has been awarded annually, since 2006, to a young club member of a WDJCU club who has made a significant contribution to their club’s advancement or well being, or has otherwise promoted the game of cricket in a meritorious way.  The award, therefore, and crucially, is not awarded to the West district’s best player, but, rather, reflects a much wider contribution to cricket.

The trophy itself is named after Mike Stanger (pictured left) who, more than most, has contributed to the advancement of cricket in the west of Scotland, not least at junior level. Mike served the district’s clubs as Chairman of the junior Union between its formation as a distinct body in 1998, and 2005.  In 2009 Mike was one of only five people involved in cricket in Scotland to be awarded an ICC Centenary Medal, an awarded given to volunteers by cricket’s world governing body who have made a huge contribution to cricket either locally or nationally.

West District Junior Cricket Union Roll of Honour MB Stanger Trophy
Year MB Stanger Trophy Winner Club
2006 Euan Sheridan and Neil Dowers Glasgow Accies
2007 Willie Rowan Prestwick
2008 Neil Smith Ayr
2009 David Healy East Kilbride
2010 Scott McElnea and Patrick Barbour Ayr and Clydesdale
2011 Ryan Murray Renfrew
2012 Mitchell Rao Prestwick
2013 No award
2014 Shujaa Khan Ayr
2015 Cameron Russell Glasgow Accies
2016 Gregor Chambers Helensburgh
2017 Zain Muhammad Clydesdale