Ayr are McCulloch Cup winners

Ayr 118 for 7 (N Smith 36, ST Khan 32*, LWB James 3-26)
Poloc 103 all out (J Snyman 40, A McElnea 3-12)

Ricky Bawa reports on Ayr’s 15-run victory in the McCulloch Cup Final.  “At a sun-kissed Bothwell Castle Policies Ayr took on Poloc in the final of the McCulloch Cup. Ayr batting first got off to an excellent start and were 50 for none after eight overs. When Neil Smith (36) and Michael Papps fell in quick succession, Taimooor Ahmad and Lewis James put the squeeze on Ayr to leave them 68 for 5. Shuja Khan (32*) then batted nicely with the tail, scurrying singles and hitting the odd boundary. Ayr ended up on a below par 118 for 7 off their twenty overs. Pick of the bowlers was James with 3 for 26.

“Poloc began their innings in much the same was as Ayr with, Owais Shah and Jutie Snyman looking in imperious form as they scored 50 off the first eight overs also. The introduction of spin however, changed things as skipper Andi McElnea (3-12), Papps (2-24) and Calum Leck (2-17) bowled intelligently to well set fields. The pressure began to tell on the Poloc batters as the the attempted big shots off the spinners failed. The run-rate required climbed and the pressure was too much for Poloc as they ended on 103 all out.”