The Union has been organising competitive cricket in the west of Scotland since the late 1950s. On this page we show the roll of honour, detailing league and cup winners over the history of the West District Junior Cricket Union (“WDJCU”). We also list the winners of the Union’s annual indoor tournament – the Super 8s – played between Christmas and New Year.


The dominant club over the history of WDJCU league cricket has been Clydesdale CC with no fewer than 74 league titles to their name, up to and including season 2018.  This is some way ahead of the next most successful club in terms of league titles, Ferguslie CC, with 30. Coming in third is West of Scotland CC with 23 championships, with Poloc CC at number four with fifteen. The Under 16 and 14 Leagues are the two most recently introduced leagues, being introduced in season 2017.


The Frank Smith Trophy is the Union’s longest-running cup competition, and the most successful club in terms of wins is, again, Clydesdale CC, with twenty wins. Behind Clydesdale CC, with the second-most wins, is Ferguslie CC with seven wins, Ayr CC has six wins to their name, with Poloc CC and West of Scotland CC next with four successes each.

The more recently-set up Under 13 League Cup (played between 2013 and 2016) saw three different winners: West of Scotland CC, Prestwick CC and Clydesdale CC.  League Cups at Under 11, 12 and Under 14 were introduced in 2019.

Super 8s

The Union’s annual indoor tournament has been played between Christmas and New Year for over 35 years. The winners of this mid-winter cric’-fest are listed below. As in the A leagues, Clydesdale CC dominate the winners circle with 39 wins in the Indoor Super 8s tournament. Ferguslie CC (ten wins) and Prestwick CC (six wins) are the other clubs, as of December 2018, that have triumphed indoors more than five times.

B leagues (1999 to 2015)

Equally as competitive, but with not quite the same history, the B leagues grew in popularity over the years they were in existence (1999 to 2015) with a growing number of clubs entering since the leagues were started at the turn of the Century. With their flexibility in terms of scheduling, the B leagues offered many competing clubs additional opportunities to facilitate competitive hardball cricket for their juniors.