WDCU league reports, 2018 – Fourth Division

More league reports from the CMC. This time Jim Murphy from Inverclyde CC files his Fourth Division report.

In a comparatively dry season (only thirteen matches lost to the rain), congratulations go to the division winners Vale of Leven CC. They lost only one match, an early season reverse at the hand of Bees, who finished a creditable second.

With the bat centurions were Sandeep Dhaliwal (Kirkstyle, twice), William Goan (Bute County CC, twice), Cameron Gunn (Inverclyde CC), Ilan Selby (Bees), Shakir Hussain (Glasgow South), and Tim Hart (Bees), whilst Ivan Lawrence of Vale of Leven CC had the top aggregate runs with 656.

With the ball Nikhil Koteeswaran (Bees), 5 for 25  Chris’ Holdstock (Hughenden) 5 for 9, Arron Richardson (Galloway CC) 5 for 13, Ali Khan (Hughenden), 5 for 31, Blair Dearie (Kirkstyle) 5 for 9, and Cameron Gunn (Inverclyde CC) 6 for 44 had best figures, while top in terms of aggregate wickets (21) was Ivan Lawrence of Vale of Leven CC.  It is fairly clear who the top all-rounder was in the division!  With the new points system in place for  this division and the return of the draw (eleven matches were drawn) the division was relatively competitive this season with the only slight disappointment being that  six matches were conceded.