Western Cup Final 2022, winners – Titwood

Western Cup winners 2022 – Titwood

The final of the Western Cup was held at the Henry Thow Oval on Sunday 31st July where Titwood won a closely fought encounter with Paisley rivals M8 Driving Meikleriggs.

In an exciting game M8 Driving Meikleriggs posted a first innings total of 107 all out in 18.2 overs thanks mainly to a healthy contribution of 57 from Taimoor Ahmad.  M8 Meikleriggs would later rue the fact they were bowled out with 10 balls to go.  Titwood  bowled and fielded well with the pick of their attack being Rohan Dhami with the splendid figures of four overs, 3 for 11.  He was well supported by Daniel Cairns who bowled four overs, 2 for 19.

The Titwood reply was steady with consistent partnerships throughout the innings but solid contributions of 29 from Daniel Cairns and 25 not out from Kallum Dhami was enough to see the Titwood side home with a ball to spare.  M8 Driving Meiklleriggs bowled and fielded valiantly, but it was not enough to defend their total of 107.  Pick of the Ferguslie bowlers were Hasan Mailk with 3.5 overs 2 for 26, and the miserly Taimoor Ahmad bowling four overs, 1 for 7.

WDCU would like to thank CSMOA umpires Paul Hoffman and Duncan Blair for officiating the game splendidly.

Finally thanks to Prestwick CC for hosting the final, and providing the fine seaside weather.

The winning team photo’ courtesy of Bill Wilson.